Lost Album by Sid Selvidge to Be Released on March 11

Posted on January 6, 2014 | by Amber von Nagel

Sid Selvidge, Memphis guitarist, died on May 2, 2013, but his music lives on. Unavailable for more than 20 years, his classic 1975 album, The Cold of the Morning, will be released on Omnivore Recordings on March 11, 2014. 

The album was recorded live in the studio in 1975 for Peabody Records, but when the label's benefactor decided at the last minute to not release the album, he gave the rights to Selvidge, who then decided to distribute the discs himself. The album was distributed to regional stores and the national press, but after the initial run and its CD reissue in 1991, it wouldn't see the light of day for over two decades.

The first Omnivore printing of this album will be pressed on blue vinyl and will include a download card for the entire album plus bonus tracks. The package will also include rare photographs and an essay by Bob Mehr of Memphis’ Commercial Appeal. It will include original tunes, blues standards, and Broadway classics. The track listing is as follows:

1. I’ve Got A Secret (Didn’t We Shake Sugaree)

2. Frank’s Tune

3. The Outlaw

4. Boll Weevil

5. Wished I Had A Dime

6. Judge Boushé

7. Then I’d Be Satisfied With Life

8. Danny Boy

9. Lazrus

10. Many A Mile

11. I Get The Blues When It Rains

12. Miss The Mississippi And You

Bonus Tracks (Included on CD and as digital download):

13. East St. Louis Blues

14. Wild About My Lovin’

15. Keep It Clean

16. Atomic Power

17. Wished I Had A Dime (Alternate Take)

18. Ain’t Nobody’s Business

Above is a video of Selvidge playing a wonderfully bluesy cover of Furry Lewis' "Judge Boushay Blues."

RELATED: Band of Horses to Release Acoustic Live Album

Receive lessons, songs, advice, and news like this straight to your inbox

Join the Lost Album by Sid Selvidge to Be Released on March 11 discussion

Get all things acoustic guitar in your inbox with our free newsletters. Your E-mail: