Cash, Isbell and Ellis Lead Americana Nominations

Posted on May 13, 2014 | by Jason Walsh

Here’s a twist for the Americana Music Association—a former married couple going toe-to-toe for the organization’s coveted Artist of the Year honor.

Rosanne Cash and Rodney Crowell, the royal couple of country music in the early ‘80s, both earned Artist of the Year nominations in the Americana Honors and Awards program, the annual awards presentation recognizing the year's achievements in roots music.

Nominations for the 12th Americana Honors and Awards were announced today. The awards show is the marquee event of the Americana Music Association, the roots-music nonprofit whose mission, according to the AMA, is to “advocate for the authentic voice of American Roots Music around the world.”

Cash and Crowell will square off for Artist of the Year with fellow-nominees Jason Isbell and Robert Ellis.

Cash was also nominated for song (“A Feather’s Not a Bird”) and album (“The River and the Thread”) of the year, tying for most overall nominations with Ellis and Isbell, who both also earned nods in those categories.

The Americana Honors and Awards will be presented September 17, as part of the Americana Music Festival, taking place September 17 to 21 in Nashville.

For a peak at Cash and Crowell in the early '80s, check out the above clip of the couple performing "Seven Year Ache."

Here’s a full list of the 2014 AHA nominees:

Album of the Year

Build Me Up From Bones, Sarah Jarosz

The Lights From The Chemical Plant, Robert Ellis

The River And The Thread, Rosanne Cash

Southeastern, Jason Isbell


Artist of the Year

Rosanne Cash

Rodney Crowell

Robert Ellis

Jason Isbell


Duo/Group of the Year

The Avett Brothers

The Devil Makes Three

Hard Working Americans

Lake Street Dive

The Milk Carton Kids


Song of the Year

"Cover Me Up", Jason Isbell

"A Feather's Not A Bird", Rosanne Cash

"Ohio", Patty Griffin

"Only Lies", Robert Ellis


Emerging Act of the Year

Hurray For The Riff Raff

Parker Millsap

St. Paul & The Broken Bones

Sturgill Simpson

Valerie June


Instrumentalist of the Year

Larry Campbell

Fats Kaplin

Buddy Miller

Bryan Sutton

Receive lessons, songs, advice, and news like this straight to your inbox

Join the Cash, Isbell and Ellis Lead Americana Nominations discussion

Get all things acoustic guitar in your inbox with our free newsletters. Your E-mail: